busy goodbyes.

only a few days left now. keeping busy…
yo.
…and packing up the last few this-es and thats.

the yo-yos above (with hundreds of their friends that haven’t been made yet) will probably be made into a huge curtain or wall-hanging, methinks. easy, mindless hand-sewing. i love the idea of hundreds of things repeating like that, and the idea that each one was fashioned by hand into a whole. (conscious, careful, intentional) handmade is love.

***

i want to take the time to say goodbye to everyone i met here in new york (if you happen to be reading). i met so many wonderful people here…i had such a crazy time here, school took up so much of my time. i am ridiculously happy that i even had the chance to even live here. living in new york city was my lifelong dream. when i first got here, i gushed, “i feel like i was meant to be here my whole life.” living here was the first time i EVER felt at home. this is where my soul feels most at ease. this creative place, so open to anything and anyone, so diverse.

i’m finally done with school, and whoosh, i’m leaving. i love you, new york. i feel like we barely had the time to get to know one another, and just as i was getting to know you on a deeper level, away i go.

thank you to all of you, teachers, colleagues, fellow students at parsons, friends…thank you for being in my life. please keep in touch, and visit me on the left coast if you like.

suffice it to say, i’m ridiculously sad about leaving. i’m actually trying to hold back tears now; i’ve been pushing them off for weeks in straight up denial. i’ve been trying to put myself mentally in san francisco already in order to not be upset at the thought of leaving.

it occurs to me that my leaving new york is like a breakup or death…i have been (privately) going through all the stages of grief.

anyhow…

here’s hoping my experiences in san francisco will be as amazing as my experiences in new york have been. i’m committed to making the most of the city by the bay, and of myself once i’m finally there.

life goes on.

13 comments

  1. melissa

    what? no going away party? nyc will miss you, but i’m sure you’ll have many great years in san fran. and as a personal note, i’m glad we got a chance to cross paths a few times here in the big city. xx

  2. tricia

    melissa:

    we were going to have a going away party this saturday, but the L train is not running this weekend, so we figured it would be really difficult for people to get here/they wouldn’t want to come. it’s sad, because i really wanted to have one, but alas…and it’s probably too late to plan anything now. oh well! 😦

  3. Casey

    Those yo-yo’s are so pretty and inspiring! My grandparents were antique dealers for several decades and had several vintage yo-yo “blankets” in their inventory. I have fond memories as a child looking at all the colorful 20s and 30s prints. I think a wall hanging from yo-yo’s would be so cool!!

    I hope you have a safe move and everything goes smoothly!! 🙂

  4. Ashley

    Oddly, I just noticed– your pile of yo-yos is in the shape of a heart. I’m not sure if it’s intentional or not, but it certainly adds to the aesthetic of the picture.

  5. abbey

    this is sad for me to read as I am moving to NYC in one week. i want people like you to stay there, adding to the creativity and advising on the best places to thrift! you played a part in my desire to go through with our move. i agree with munasamira- huge loss for NYC!

  6. Gina

    I’ve left NYC and returned several times, and it definately feels like a deep parting. I wish you well on your move and your new adventures in SF.

  7. brenda

    heyyyy. the left coast welcomes you. im in stupid washington, but california is my home. i hope you like it there. (:

  8. klynnnn

    You even made me weepy …. 🙂 I just have to say I love your outfit in this picture … that white top is awesome and sexy (with the little bit of cleav showin!), goes great with the skinny jeans and heels – wish I could wear heels like that walking around a city!… Good luck with the move – are you driving or flying?

  9. Paul

    Trish===

    As you know, I’ve moved (almost) all over the country… and felt badly when I left one city, but was excited to join the next city. My family came with me… You have Pete to help you.

    You make friends easily… cherish the friends that you’ve made… and stay in contact with them… look forward to the friends that are to be… they will heal the hurt of leaving NYC and making SF a home.. Pete needs your support, and Pete will support you as well.

    Career plug from Dad === open or work in a boutique… you’ll be amazed at what will happen – knowing your wonderful talent.

    Love,

    Dad