wardrobe_remix(ers) o’ the week

my wardrobe_remix picks of the week. enjoy.

nappyco:
Sept. 26 '06
(easy, comfy urban threads.)

persephassa:
day34
(does this girl EVER look bad? no, never! :D)

uproar:
09.27.06
(an amazing thrift find, clearly.)

laurenn:
Sept 28th, 2006
(wearing black with sass.)

sabocracy:
time can take its toll on the best of us
(sweet simplicity.)

sjwhidden:
flipping out man
(everything about this photo delights me! hee.)

as always, click on any photograph above to see more details about the photograph, and explore the flickr photostreams of any of these lovely wardrobe_remix(ers).

oh, and P.S.: this blogger GETS what wardrobe_remix is really all about. thank you, whomever you are:
http://www.utata.org/ink/2006/18933.php

***

i am missing NYC more than ever today, after a particularly horrible experience out in SF last night.

i’m not sure how much longer i can stand it here in the bay area…i’m not feeling at home here yet and i’m not sure if i ever will. i can’t stop comparing the two cities to one another, and that’s really like comparing apples to…raisins. or something. either way, the comparisons are an exercise in futility.

having to stay here for a year or more seems like having an eternity in hell to me…unfortunately i think i’m stuck here for a while.

here’s hoping the coming months will give me some sort of reason to change my mind.

…but i’m not going to hold my breath.

10 comments

  1. Katie

    Woah, that’s my friend Laurenn McCubbin! Small world, these internets.

    Laurenn is way cool and you should meet her, she’s just over in Oakland.

    Sorry to hear you’re having a hard time in SF, I would come hang out with you if I still lived in the bay area.

  2. persephone

    When we first got to SA, I hated it! I am from the Gulf Coast of Mississippi, and I knew where everything was, never got lost, never felt like an outsider in the places that I went. Here, everything is different, but I am slowly getting used to the bad driving, the endless circle of interstates, and the feeling that I don’t “belong”. I’ve lived here for over a year and a half, so give it time. Everyone I know who lives in SF loves it.

  3. sjwhidden

    new york is a hard city to beat. if thats where your heart is then i’m sure the future will lead you back there.
    it sounds insipid but things have a funny way of working out. it’s true.
    i feel pretty unsatisfied and frustrated (in the glamourous cosmopolitan culture mecca of fredericton), but this is like a holiday, when i have time and resources to take it easy (ie: reading online celebrity gossip) and think about the ever-loving l what next.
    hows the thrifting? (it’s phenominal here. i found a guy laroche high waisted gray leather skirt that reminded me of you immediatly for some reason. if you’re curious i can upload some pics).
    be well and thanks for the inspirationing.

  4. Meredith

    Give yourself a break! It takes a *long* time to feel at home in places. For my first oh, two years out here, I kept comparing it with NYC. Ugh, so embarrassed to admit this, but I even got into arguments with people at clubs and SAID things like “This would never happen in New York!”

    Let me know if you want to get together – there’s a really cool shop in the East Bay I think you’d like called Lacis that’s easily bartable –
    http://www.sfgate.com/cgi-bin/article.cgi?file=/c/a/2006/05/07/LVGBPIKAVA1.DTL&type=printable
    And if I can get Xtian’s car, there’s a whole bunch of vintage shops down on San Pablo that are kind of fun. I’m trying to accept that I just don’t have the body for the 50s and 60s, but it doesn’t keep me from looking. I’m free Friday afternoons (after 11).

  5. Casey

    Great picks!! I really need to get back into the groove of taking pics to share on WR! 🙂

    This really doesn’t have a lot to do with this post, but I have to tell you what I bought today at a thrift shop. 🙂 I found a really cool acid-wash denim skirt for $2, and instantly thought of how you rock the acid wash denim thing. I bought it and plan on trying to work it into my wardrobe. hehehe. See–you’re starting a trend here!!

  6. SwanDiamondRose

    i miss nyc too. there are few places i feel at home. ny is one of them. i have moved so many times. i feel completely disconnected. i am on the west coast too. it is so different from the east. i love it in a way but always feel like a tumbleweed. i usually try to proactively build up my life when i move. find my people and community. a gym for sanity. san francisco must have some goodies [i don’t mean gyms]. and you do have the world at your fingertips. right now all my focus is on my work and i have my boyfriend. so that is good. anyway… moving sucks. i hate it. you have my empathy.

  7. Daniele

    I felt the same way about leaving NYC when I first moved down to New Orleans. I still feel like I am finding my way down here, but I can assure you it gets much better with time. New York is such an awesome place, it’s hard not to compare it to anywhere else you’ll live. But comparing big ol’ NYC to cities with half a million people or less (like SF and NOLA) isn’t fair. Instead, focus on the things that make your new city unique and try to find things that you love about it. And remember: NYC isn’t going anywhere. You can go back when the timing is right.

  8. klynnnn

    FYI – Brittany Bush is a member of Utata, didn’t know if you knew that or not…. great article there!

    Sorry you’re not liking SanFran, hopefully getting into “real” living quarters will change your mind – have you done all the touristy things yet?

    Here’s a link to an antique store, this was highlighted in one of Mary Randolph Carter’s books and you may find more pics (of the inside) at her site (www.carterjunk.com) (p.s. she’s a NY’er, works for Ralph Lauren)
    http://www.yelp.com/biz/5WLbREN_0efOFqxO4CHDdw