11.5.2006 + the apartment, in progress

i looked like an elf on sunday. just being crazy and mixing up what’s left in my closet after the big post-cross-country purge of ’06. also, making kissy faces at my black cat, girl.

11.5.2006

rust colored hand-knit alpaca cowl: knit by me
chartreuse linen shift dress with giant chrysanthemum print: marimekko
green 70s square-neck vintage tee: thrifted in florida.
black leggings worn like tights: newport news (from when leggings were hard to find several years back)
black ankle boots, folded down: thrifted last week @ thrift town, SF.
red-orange plastic bangle: thrift town, SF.
green plastic bangle: beacon’s closet, williamsburg, brooklyn.
red-orange enamel earrings: thrifted in florida.
green lucite cocktail ring: alexis bittar

***

the apartment is starting to come together:

marimekko wallhanging and things

living room looking toward windows/porch

will likely replace these ikea chairs with the eames plywood lounge chairs i’ve mentioned before around these parts, most likely in walnut.
when we can afford them, of course. no huge hurry.
new mid-century hand-tiled table
for now, i’m happy with the IKEA lounge chairs we have…

the table is a new acquisition. it’s a mid-century piece, which was
hand-tiled by an artist, perhaps a potter?
new couch and coffee table

new jonathan adler pillows! made in custom colors i chose. i heart them.
happiness is...
i am also considering making my own needlepoint pillows, to join these on the couch, in shades of red, orange, and green, of course.

***

still need a rug (perhaps a tan or off-white flokati, as mentioned), a small side table, and a nice lamp for said side table in the living room. i’m really loving this lamp from crate and barrel:

or, as i kind of like the idea of adding a little white into the decor, in small doses…
this cute giraffe lamp from jonathan adler is mighty cute:
http://www.jonathanadler.com/shop/product.php?cat=385&productid=16768

or any from him, really…he’s amazing!

11 comments

  1. Esperanza

    Hello, Tricia! I have been reading your (live)journal for some time now and I think you are amazingly talented. I love the idea of the “wardrobe remix” – I didn’t know what to think when I saw this site earlier today: http://shareyourlook.com/
    It’s wardrobe remix, basically.

  2. tricia

    yes, but it’s also like my style diary, which has been around for quite a while:
    http://www.mystylediary.net/Default.aspx

    it’s okay…such is life. there is room for many things like this in the world, i suppose.

    if i could actually write code and build websites, perhaps i would do something myself…but alas, that is not my path in life. i wish both sites the best.

  3. Pupule

    I have that C&B lamp in green and I love it. I went to college at Cal. I went to grad school at Pratt. I know both your worlds and I am sure that you will begin to love the bay area just as I began to love New York.

  4. sonia luna

    Love your apartment! Great colours! Love the mosaic table and the red cabinet under the television [is that office furniture?], also loved your work-station … in the middle of fixing my little room myself … way to much stuff! One day they will find me buried under piles of cloth and old issues of vogue!

  5. Katharine

    So I’ve been snooping around your journal after stumbling across you on LJ (maybe from thriftwhore?). Anyway, I just wanted to say I love your singular sense of style and I love the way your apartment’s coming together– the perfect mix of clean and modern, and funky and vintage-y. And I especially love your mix of color *and* the presence of slouchy kitties 🙂

  6. tricia

    sonia luna: sorry it’s taken me a couple days to reply, but that red cabinet under the TV is from IKEA. they still have them, and i think it was quite reasonable as far as cost (just fyi).

    hahah…debbie cook: that IKEA pillow looks great as a skirt! thanks for link.

  7. Kimberly

    That marimekko dress is to die for! Your apartment is really coming together, lovely as always! I can’t wait to get my own place.

    I am a bit obsessed with Jonathan Adler also. I have actually been emailing the sr. designer back and forth trying to secure myself an internship there next semester! Cross your fingers!