clip those skinnies!

two of the biggest staples of my closet are a.) skinny/slim cut jeans, and b.) boots.

you too?

ever notice the pesky bunching that happens about the knees when wearing them together?

yeah?

sucks, doesn’t it? wanna do something about it?

then this post is for you!

page 122 of the march 2007 issue of lucky magazine had a great little blurb about the elastic pant clips used by equestrians, and how they are a brilliant trick for avoiding the bunchy fabric that happens when one tucks the aforementioned slim or skinny jeans into the aforementioned boots.

here it is!:

skinny jean pant clips tutorial 1

okay, yes, you COULD just simply buy the elastic pant clips from an equestrian supply store such as dover’s saddlery (the source mentioned in the lucky piece)…

OR you could make them yourself, like i did!

interested? up for a little DIY? it’s RIDICULOUSLY easy!

what you’ll need:

-two (2) pieces of elastic, 3/4″ wide, and 7 1/2″ long
-four (4) suspender clips (1″ size)
-four (4) sewing pins
-ruler
-scissors
-sewing machine
-polyester thread to match the color of the elastic
-pinking shears (optional)

skinny jean pant clips tutorial 2

for starters, you need to measure out two (2) lengths of 3/4″ wide elastic. each one of these lengths needs to be about 7 1/2″ long.

tip: if you desire a cleaner look and less fraying at the ends of these lengths of elastic, you can use a pair of pinking shears to make a smart zig-zag edge.

skinny jean pant clips tutorial 3

slip each of the ends of the elastic into the oval-shaped rings of the suspender clips (two for each length of elastic, natch), folding approximately 1″ of the elastic down towards what will be the backside of your elastic pant clips, and pin in place, as in the photo above.

now it’s time to head over to the sewing machine!

skinny jean pant clips tutorial 4

sew the fold down 1/4″ away from the pinked/cut edge, and approximately 1/4″ or 3/8″ away from the clip, to hold the clip in place.

skinny jean pant clips tutorial 5

i recommend using a very, very narrow zig zag stitch, if your sewing machine has one, to give the stitch some stretch (as it’s in that super stretchy elastic) so the stitches won’t pop and break. i actually did two rows of stitching, one over the other, to make the stitching super durable.

skinny jean pant clips tutorial 6

and you’re done!

26 comments

  1. stephanie

    these are awesome–i had a pair back in my high school days that i would use to clip my over-the-knee socks to my miniskirts (a la garters). they’re so deceptively simple to make, why did i ever think of buying mine? great tute!

  2. tricia

    nichola: they feel fine! the clips are pretty low profile. as far as tight-fitting boots…you’d have to be wearing them skin tight (like those weird stretchy ones) for them to show through, i’m thinking.

  3. tricia

    they aren’t stirrups in the sense that they’d be worn on the outside….NOT like the ones from the 80s. strictly utilitarian.

  4. sunshine

    Remind me of the mitten clips I made my kids wear before the age of five so we wouldn’t loose them. Also reminds me of the 80’s when the same type of thing was added to the backs of dresses and billowy shirts. The 80’s yikes high school. Not to mention all the stirrup pants that killed the bottom of your foot

  5. hoyan

    brilliant! but where do you find suspender clips? I’ve actually been looking for them but haven’t found them here (in the Hague).

  6. tricia

    i found the clips at a store that carries fabrics and notions (fabric store) here in the US. not sure where you would find them in your area. šŸ™‚

  7. Gladys

    I’m going to date myself here, but back in the 80’s I had a pair of these. They were widely available at shoe stores and accessory departments of many clothing stores. Sadly, I got rid of them thinking I would never use them again, yet this winter I was tucking my skinny jeans into my boots! Thanks for the tutorial – I plan to make a pair and this time I will keep them!

  8. ingvild

    thank your for the tip, I’ve made a pair myself only with button fastenings for my legwarmers and now they stay in place perfectly with all kinds of shoes:)

  9. Lalla Lydia

    Totally useful and you’re right, it LOOKS really easy…Now if only my sewing machine and I didn’t have a love-hate relationship…Though I actually think I *might* be able to manage this one…Thanks for sharing!

  10. Molly

    I had ripped out this idea from Lucky and went to buy it and the shipping was outrageous. What a great suggestion. To green in up a bit I think I will go to the Thrift store and buy an old pair of suspenders to make these. Thanks for the idea.

  11. Pingback: how do women keep their jeans in their boots?
  12. Shannon

    I too had these in high school but tossed them just a few years ago figuring I wouldn’t possibly wear them again! Who would have thought? Thanks for the idea and the how-to.

  13. Pingback: Pant Clips?! « J’S NoteBook
  14. Pingback: Inspiration File #5 | Coral Stars
  15. cheryl

    Tricia, This is really a great idea, but I don’t have access to a sewing machine. Is it okay to just sew them together with needle and thread?

  16. kellie

    this is just what i have been looking for. didn’t want to spend $8.00 bucks plus waiting for delivery for these. thanks soooo much for the idea. i knew it should be simple.

  17. Chris Richards

    Where did you purchase your elastic? I am looking for leopard or zebra elastic, any suggestions?