dallyings and dabblings

two in-process projects: objects to beautify my home.

***

my first quilt

these blocks will be the beginnings of my first-ever quilt. i’ve been yearning to make one for years. patchwork is actually an old friend of mine, but i have never turned it into a quilt or something for my home, choosing instead to usually put it to use as clothing.

i am starting with a simple string/strip quilt, using old and new fabric from my scrap pile. some of the fabric was thrifted, or salvaged from thrifted clothes or linens, while others were left-over bits remaining after much of a piece of fabric was turned into clothes. there’s even a bit of hand-tie-dyed fabric (the orange slice on the bottom left) that i dyed myself many a year ago. i am loving how the fabric looks together, and how they form a chevron. something about it feels very beachy to me…it sort of reminds me of florida, where i lived for much of my life.

***

grannies

and my first ever afghan, of crocheted granny squares. i have a huge amount of bulky-weight lamb’s pride taking up room in my supply closet, so i figured i would put it to some use and make it into a blanket. each square will have a goldenrod colored final row, joining them all together. then i plan to felt the whole thing, so it will sort of muddle together some and be less fuzzy (the mohair is a bit nuts when it comes to shedding). it’s been fun playing around with the colors, to say the least.

ringtone mms nokia 3310accrington collegeringtone download free alltelringtone here christian am i worshipringtone free 525 necringtone 100 reecomposer ringtone 1600 nokiamono 311 ringtones Map

7 comments

  1. jennifer

    i’ve picked up quilting. well, starting to try to quilt. please update on your progress! those two blocks look really beautiful. are you going to do any decorative quilting or just stitch in the ditch?

  2. jennine

    oh my goodness… those are gorgeous! i love the colors! my granmother used to crochet afgans like that. my skills are nil, and grandma long passed… the only place i can think to get one is in japantown there is a senior shop. i guess they’re putting the seniors to work!

  3. Zena

    Ohhh so amazing! I can’t wait to see the finished products. Quilt especially! It looks beautiful and I’m already lusting after it. Your style is the best.

    p.s. this is retyped, dang question gets me every time.

  4. blingblingkitty

    loving the quilt and granny squares. the idea to felt the afghan is a good one y’know I think a felted granny square bag with a big ‘ol handle would be groovy too. loving the blog as usual. Thanks!

  5. Pingback: bits and bobbins » archives » the granny square blanket = finished (mostly!)