(used) stuff + finished (knits)

two knitted things i’ve recently completed:

tomato red and fuchsia/sequin striped cowl

i’m mad about cowls…as anyone who’s lingered around me for any decent length of time knows. they are great because they brainless knitting projects for me…just a tube of knitting, essentially. also, they are a great way to use up small bits of yarn (which i have boatloads of), while making a “scarf” that’s not really a “scarf”. and of course, they are a fun way to play with color, or texture (from the yarn itself or through the use of pattern stitches).

this particular cowl is made from some tomato red silk and rayon ribbon yarns i found at one of my favorite local yarn shops, imagiknit, which is located in the castro, and happens to be within dangerously close walking distance of my house. the fuchsia ribbon yarn also has some red sequin carry-along thread yarn knitted together with it, hence the bit of spangliness you might see flashes of.

i love adding sequin yarns or metallic yarns with other yarns into my cowls…it makes it feel like a piece of sparkly fiber jewelry rather than a scarf.

i paired with a strapless lace 80s cocktail dress i thrifted at goodwill, haight street, SF, yesterday.

and here’s yet another feather and fan scarf. also sort of a mindless, fun knitting project. i’ve made three of these so far.

yet another feather and fan scarf

made from cascade 220. such an easy, smooth yarn to knit with, that comes in a myriad of colors and is extremely affordable…i love it for those reasons and more.

***

some recently acquired things i’m completely grooving on:

the most perfect cloth napkins ever, ever, EVER. a birthday gift from my new pal lisa. she is *awesome*.

napkins from lisa c.!

this flower facinator from the ebay shop i mentioned in my recent cocktail hat post:

red flower facinator

and this crazy-fish emblazoned vest, from goodwill, on haight street. i’m still pondering whether to restyle it or turn it into a cool pillow. either reincarnation would please me equally:

fish vest!

17 comments

  1. tricia

    laura: funny you say that, i thought the same thing (feeling/looking a little frida-ish!) after i saw the photo and posted it. 🙂

  2. tricia

    helen: which green scarf? the yellow green one around my neck or the blue-green one on the table?

    garter stitch shouldn’t curl. the yellow green cowl is all garter (k every row, or in this case, k 1 row, p 1 row, b/c it’s in the round). the blue-green scarf doesn’t curl b/c it’s edged with garter.

    usually straight stockinette (k 1 row, p 1 row when knitting flat) will curl like the dickens.

    or, if you did not edge a cowl with something that lies flat, like a ribbing or garter or seed, then it will probably also curl.

  3. tricia

    jennifer: i know, they are pretty awesome! i’d wear them too if they magically transformed into clothing! but i also love them the way they are.

  4. meighan

    i love knitting cowls! they are my new obsession. especially w/ really chunky yarn. i think we are lucky to live in sf so we can wear scarves all year round. i love how colorful your blog is! thanks for being so bright and creative.

  5. Jessica

    The hat is fantastic, this weekend I made an appt at Artikal to go try on cocktail hats for the shiny squirrel launch party on October 6th. I can’t wait, I will post anything I get!

  6. jennifer

    tricia: i actually dreamed about those napkins last night. i dunno if that was a random brain thing, or if i’m truly obsessed, but damn those are some fantastic napkins.

  7. tricia

    kayte: awesome! yep, they are the same ones! great minds have great eyes, methinks! apparently they were originally from “pier 1”, believe it or not. one of the napkins still had a store tag on it, and it looked very old. i am not sure when “pier 1” got it’s start, but it feels very 70s or 80s to me judging from the colorway.

  8. Patti

    Tricia- I have the hardest time keeping vintage cocktail hats perched on top of my head. I have hair similar to yours ,leaving not much for hat pins to grab onto. Any suggestions?

  9. tricia

    patti: i think one good trick is to use thin elastic cording to help the hat stay on your head. many vintage hats come with this cording, but you can find some at most sewing stores in the notions or crafting area. i’m talking something that is like, 1-2mm wide…very thin but strong. you can attach it to the ribbon edging on the inside of the hat, and then when you wear the hat, you hide the elastic in your hair so that it cannot be seen.

    does that help?

  10. Helen

    The green scarve on the table! Mine was similair to yours (in fact I think I got the idea from you!), with the knitting around the edge to try and hold it straight. I have no idea where I went wrong but I think I have a lot to learn!

  11. Patti

    Tricia- That’s an excellent idea. Yes, I’ve seen some vintage hats with the little strap or elastic already on them. I think that will work. Thanks!!!!