(not so) random links

the poetic, epic scale and feeling of YOKOO’s photography floors me. she also makes huge scarves whose scale and texture defies normalcy, in the best of ways.

***

-i’m with nubby twiglet, sharing ideas and creativity with the world at large can be a good thing. as nubby suggests, forget about being copied…if something is really good, anything or anyone else that tries to match it or you will pale in comparison. as i often say to anyone who laments about this soft of thing (sometimes i’m talking to myself!), the cream rises to the top. let go/accept, move on, then produce more and different ideas. you’ll be better for it.

***

-be confident, love yourself, and positivity will follow. in matters of fashion, yes, but also in life! not sure how to be confident? consult the inimitable gala darling, she of the astute lifestyle advice, particularly this confidence-inspiring missal (via nubby twiglet).

***

german fashion/style blogger, wardrobe_remix member, and street fashion photo taker (over at http://tragflaeche-leipzig.de/) laura has turned me on to one of the most creative and original street fashion sites i’ve EVER seen, fak.org.ua, out of the ukraine. it’s a color explosion over there, just the way i like it! and the photographs border on art. thanks laura! here’s a taste:

ganna.jpg

loans home affordablepayday 90 loans daystudent afsa loanscar loan 0mortgage 2nd rate loan calculatorremortgage advice uk http home loanabacus loanday loans payday 30loans faxing no 1 hourphysician bank loan america

11 comments

  1. tricia

    no problem everyone, you’re welcome! i love sharing with you. i love doing this new feature…which is why it’s been so prevalent lately. i can’t keep it all to myself! πŸ˜›

  2. whimsical nerd

    I love that Kyiv street fashion site, I am so excited to see it mentioned on your blog! I am about to unleash the nerd part, though. It’s not ‘the’ Ukraine, just Ukraine. It is an independent state now and the article implies marginalization as a region. Sounds silly, but it is a pretty impassioned political issue for Ukrainians. πŸ™‚

  3. sarah

    wow, I love that flower pin! I don’t know what it’s made of, but the texture looks like crepe paper. brilliant! And gosh, now that I realize that I have a coat JUST like that (but PURPLE), I’m wondering why the heck I haven’t been wearing it more. Wasn’t I just bemoaning this am my lack of light jackets? sheesh.

    Oh, and thanks for lighting a fire under me to finish that flower pin I started months ago, too….

  4. tricia

    whimsical nerd: i meant absolutely no offense with “the” ukraine…i actually had no idea that semantics was even an issue regarding that nation. “the” is used in reference to countries often, am i right? “the” united states, “the” united kingdom? are the US and the UK considered to be marginalized by the use of “the” before them? i truthfully was not aware it was considered a pejorative term in that context.

    http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/the

  5. ambika

    Oh, I love the link regarding copying, thanks for sharing. I’ve often seen items that are similar to one another and applaud anyone who can manage to pull of something *entirely* original. But stressing the similarities that do exist (deliberate or not) seems such a waste of effort that could be better spent on improving and innovating what one makes.

  6. whimsical nerd

    Tricia,
    I know you meant no offense. Just thought I’d point it out. πŸ™‚ ‘The Ukraine’ is still a force of habit for most Westerners. ‘Ukraine’ actually comes from the Russian and Ukrainian word for border or edge, and so ‘The Ukraine’ effectually implied that Ukraine was nothing more than the edge of the various (most often Russian, and later Soviet) empires which encapsulated it. It denoted a region rather than a nation, because Ukraine achieved internationally recognized independence for the first time only in 1991. Thus, many proud Ukrainians are trying to eliminate the ‘the’ from the colloquial usage. In the case of the US or the UK, the article is a specific referent to the union of separate bodies within a given nation rather than the nation itself. There is also a semantic debate going on within Russian regarding changing the commonly used preposition regarding Ukraine from na to v (basically, on to in,) which mirrors the idea that Ukrainians want to be considered a sovereignity rather than a subject of Russia. It’s a pretty huge political issue, which does seem a bit odd but I had to nonetheless show a little Ukraine-love. πŸ™‚

  7. Yokoo

    Looking good Tricia! It was a nice suprise to see my link, it’s so encouraging when people admire my work. I’m going to post that photograph soon.. Oh and I just updated my website this morning.. with I had done it a day sooner, I got tons of hits after you posted my site..
    Thx again..
    ~Yokoo