if money was no object…

i was not posting much the last month or so. but, such is life. instead of posting (which takes a lot of energy, surprisingly!) i was instead doing a lot of relaxing, resting, trying to feel better, a lot of watching t.v. and surfing the web (very easy to do when you have energy for little else, dontcha know?).

in my travels, i came across a lot of things that delighted my eyes. does it mean i’ll run out and buy them? probably not.

but, if money was no object…(and i could actually justify getting more stuff!)…

***

there’s something cool and almost summery about this blue resin bead necklace from j crew. i am enamored with it’s simple boldness.

jcrewnecklace.jpg

***

speaking of j crew, i am over the moon about this silk ruffle neck halter, worn under that cashmere henley-style sweater. the neckline of the halter is more than a little feminine with the ruffles, but not at all over the top. a nice level of restraint. but i know for a fact the coupling of the yellow and the red-orange is what sends me over the edge with mad love, as both are among my favorite colors (of late, and in general).

jcrewcashsweatershirt.jpg

color always finds a way to make me fall deeper in love with something i covet. funny, that.

***

this fruit-stripe-y sisal bag found at sustainable style source a greater gift just seems so summer-like to me. perfect for bringing some sweetness and light to a dark winter day.

africansisalbag.jpg

bonus: it’s made by a cooperative in kenya that includes akamba tribespeople, whose female members are skilled weavers.

***

continuing the ethnic aesthetic and awesomeness, i’ve always been a fan of african prints and latin american weaving. thus, both of these totally comfy-looking, uber colorful skimmer sneakers by keep from keep make me smile widely. i don’t wear sneakers very often, but rubber-soled footwear this stylish makes me want to make an exception.

keepafricanshoe.jpg

keepmayanshoe.jpg

***

see past flights of my shopping/fashion fancy in my if money was no object archive.

10 comments

  1. susie_bubble

    Hey thanks for leaving me those tips on the blog! I may have to pick your brains closer to the time…. I didn’t realise J. Crew had such deliciously cute things…. again, something to look up whilst I’m over the pond…

  2. tricia

    susie_bubble: please do! i’m glad to share, even if i don’t live there anymore. and lena had some great suggestions re: williamsburg, which is a fun neighborhood to check out (i used to live quite near there). williamsburg (parts of it anyway) remind me a bit of east london.

    j crew is great! they are great with classic shapes and bold colors. their pieces are easy to morph and bend to one’s own personal style. i think they have a location on prince street, just west of broadway in soho, in NYC.

  3. laura

    i love the necklace, the combination of the two tops and the shoes. the pattern on the left reminds me of that fabric you used for making a dress. (:

  4. blingblingkitty

    I too love that necklace! I’ve always enjoyed their basics (what’s not to like really) but in the last few years I was a bit underwhelmed. I did really dig a lot of the winter 07 items, but MAN the recent catalog KNOCKED ME SOCKS OFF! I am loving a lot of it-great prints and spectacular color! I am knocking around the idea of not purchasing any new clothing items now so. I’ll use what I see as inspiration. I almost emailed you, but was pretty sure you’d mention something about their new offerings. Hope you are feeling better and it is great to have you back here. LOVE YOUR BLOG!

  5. heather

    I love Keep shoes! I actually splurged on a pair last year that I wore constantly. They use the happiest materials… it’s like automatic smiles for your feet, and knowing that they’re cruelty-free is even more reason to smile!

  6. Jeff

    I always think that. Thats why you always see all the style celebs with new clothes (also as they get them free), but when I buy something I really need to think what combinations I can wear it with to make sure I am getting my moneys worth!

    I recon though even if I did buy everything I saw and liked I would still have my regular favs