(not so) random links

those sky high stilletos don’t do a body good. which is why i keep mine under 2.5″ and wider as a general rule. what about you? self-professed champion of the uber high-heels? flats fan? (from sociological images)

-this is apparently old news, but dolce & gabbana ripped off marimekko. bad form from a company who likely bitches, groans, and goes after counterfeiters unrelentingly themselves. absolutely disgusting move on the part of d&g, and a major disservice to a wonderful finnish company with an illustrious design history spanning a good half of the 20th century. i hope marimekko is looking into serving d&g their ass for lunch over this. counterfeit chic, did you hear about this? (from the glam guide)

-love this essay by paul graham on stuff. how our stuff owns us, how we really don’t *need* it, how much of it has little value, regardless of what marketers will have us believe. here’s a quote pertinent to the usual subject at hand around these parts, fashion:

A friend of mine cured herself of a clothes buying habit by asking herself before she bought anything “Am I going to wear this all the time?” If she couldn’t convince herself that something she was thinking of buying would become one of those few things she wore all the time, she wouldn’t buy it. I think that would work for any kind of purchase. Before you buy anything, ask yourself: will this be something I use constantly? Or is it just something nice? Or worse still, a mere bargain?

-via humane recipe, via consumerist: macy’s doesn’t care if you want to save the planet, forces you to take a plastic bag. nice (completely asinine) move, macy’s. people shouldn’t be penalized or treated badly because they don’t want to take the damn plastic bag. the receipt IS enough, macy’s. and if it isn’t, you’ve got bigger fish to fry, and a lot to answer to. like, the earth?

20 comments

  1. Alison Potter

    Hey…I’ve stumbled upon your site a couple times now and just wanted to let you know I LOVE it! wardrobe_remix is such a cool idea (I’m addicted to browsing through all the pics on Flickr), and your love for colour and approach to fashion and style is so refreshing and inspiring. You’ve got yourself a new fan! Keep up the great work!

  2. Sanna

    This Marimekko/D&G incidence was widely publicized in Finland in November. Apparently Marimekko had taken action and sent an inquiry about the issue to D&G but here has been no news about the issue since November.

    And yes, I’m another fan of your site as well!

  3. tressie

    and yeah ! d&g can certainly hire some schmarty pants designers I’m thinking…I suppose they think no one will notice the um, Marimekko stealin’….
    and also yeah ! All my shoe heels are under 2.75 and wider..because I don’t like teetering, I don’t like sinking into wet grassy mud with skinny heels, and I don’t need the artificial to be sexily me, which may be overrated anyway…..
    dressing sexy is overrated, not moi ……duh. which is why wardrobe_remix is so beloved.

  4. Casey

    Ouch! Now I really know why I shouldn’t be sporting those heels so much!! Eeek… I’ve already had foot problems once due to high heels (at the ripe age of 20 when it happened). I don’t want to think what damage I’ve done since… time to be on the lookout for some more flats!

    That makes me sick about D&G. I love, love, love Marimekko’s designs, and the fact that another fashion house would blithely rip them off is disgusting. I totally agree with what you said. 😉

    Ugh. Just another case with Macy’s of annoying branding practices!! I hate when I go into a store, tell the salesperson that I don’t need a bag, and then have to literally convince them three or four times that yes, I’m sure I *don’t* want a plastic bag!! Grrrr…

  5. allisonlindsay

    Hang on, hang on. In the last year, I’ve shopped at Macy’s perhaps four times and have always been able to decline a bag. It’s unfortunate that a plastic sack was foisted upon Erin, the Consumerist contributor, but I don’t think it is indicative of a corporate mandate.

  6. la_meow

    i just love the corporate attitude, the Macys bag thing reminds me of when i went to Target a while ago and i said “i don’t need a bag” and i took out my purchase and gave the bag back to him,he rolled his eyes and said he is going to have to throw the bag away.

  7. pamela

    I’m sorry to disagree, but I just have to speak up here. I’m a student of fabric design, and as such I already know how hard it is to find fresh reference. A designer treads into delicate territory when they choose a simple design tossed over a solid field, but there is only so much that two such designs can diverge from each other.

    Yes, the two designs share similarities in that they both use five-petalled flowers in large scale. But anyone with an eye for detail can see that there are appreciable differences: the centers are different; one pattern has stems, the other does not; the D&G flowers don’t have the dimple at the end of the petal; but they do seem to have an analgous pattern within the petal of each flower; the D&G flowers are generally round, while the Marimekko are elongated. I see these two patterns as very differnt.

    Now, if you asked me would I buy the D&G, I’d have to answer no. It just doesn’t seem like good design to me. Too simplistic, with no quirky little twists such as those that have made the Marimekko pattern so instantly recognizable and such a perrenial seller (no pun intended).

  8. tricia

    pamela: point taken. however, at first glance, they look extremely similar, to my eye. in fact, i was walking through bloomingdales last weekend and saw the bag, and immediately said to my husband, “huh, that’s marimekko’s unikko print, i wonder if marimekko and d&g are doing a collaboration?” later that day i read the blog post i linked to, and no, marimekko is NOT doing a collaboration with the finnish company. d&g may be able to argue that they changed the print appreciably, but in court that defense may not hold up.

    you obviously have a very trained design eye that can spot the differences, and you can bet the differences were deliberate on the part of d&g. at first glance, it reads as marimekko. and there’s where it gets me…i just hold marimekko in too high of a regard to think its okay for someone to copy a print so iconic and think that it’s kosher. especially from a company that probably takes issue with being copied themselves.

    i understand it can be hard to come up with ideas, to find inspiration as an artist and a designer. HOO BOY, do i ever. but i do think, however, d&g could have worked a little harder in that regard. it’s just too close for me, and thus, it leaves a bad taste in my mouth.

    i’d be interested to see what happens with it all, either way.

  9. buttercup rocks

    Heels cripple me thus, from the age of 18, I have dedicated my life to the pursuit of the sexy flat. My all time faves have been some black, oval-toed slip-ons with long silk tassels; a pair of deep russet suede jobs, edged with satin ribbon and thick ruffled lace and graced with tiny nipped-in heels; a pair of vintage St Laurent gold kid Roman sandals, which lace up with gold silk rope; a pair of black suede shoes covered all over with tiny metallic red polkadots, (I called them my Ruby Slippers); and my perfectly flat, palest rose pink suede sandals – a simple loop over the big toe, two slim straps, over the instep and the base of the toes respectively, joined together with little strings of faux pearls. You can keep your vertiginous Jimmy Choos as far as I’m concerned. There’s more than one way to look – and feel – sexy.

  10. sarah

    I’ve got to chime in that I’ve been able to leave Macy’s without a bag whenever I’ve wanted. I usually bike or bus around town, though, and have my backpack with me probably 95-99% of the time. A simple, “I’ve got room in here – no bag, please,” has worked for me. I wonder if that particular store has had to institute a stricter policy? Perhaps it is having a problem with heavy shoplifting and this is how it is addressing it?

  11. valerie

    dude. tricia, i totally have to agree with you. not that it is in any way OK for designers to rip off lesser known patterns/designs/motifs/etc, but that’s *totally* an iconic marimekko print! and considering the resurgence of popularity that marimekko is currently enjoying, i can’t help but be sickened by d&g’s transparent attempt to ride that. gross. lame.

  12. Mallory

    The stuff quote reminds me of something I’ve been trying to keep in mind lately, which I picked up from Tim Gunn via his Guide to Style show… Is this piece of clothing (jewelry, accessory, whatever) “soul-stirring”? I think that’s a really great reference point. Because I do have things in my closet that are totally soul-stirring for me, that make me happy just to look at them. But then there are things that I got because they were kind of cute and a good deal, or whatever. I’m trying to restrict any new purchases to the former from now on. Nicer on the pocketbook, nicer on the planet, nicer on my sanity.

  13. mollie

    No one can force someone to take a plastic bag. What was Macy’s going to do, un-sell her the item? She should have ignored the cashier and taken the items anyway. The security guard cannot stop her from leaving the store if she has a receipt. She didn’t steal the items. She is perfectly within her right to leave the store without a bag.

  14. Cute Mess

    I love high heels. I miss them. But, I too try to find ones 2.5inch and below due to my boyfriend who is only a few inches taller than me. Occasionally I have to wear some with a 3″or 3.5″ heel because nothing I own is appropriate for certain outfits. It is incredibly hard to find sexy heels in the low height range. Criteria for sexy: toe cleavage, make feet look smaller (I stay away from long pointy toe pumps) and interesting details like peep toe, ankle strap etc. On a daily basis I wear flat shoes. I live in SF too, and it is nice to walk around unaware of your feet. My favorite flats for the last two years: Sam Edeleman’s satin Caroline ballet slippers. They have a cute lace up on the back of the heel. I guess they are still around on the web. I have pale gray/silver, black and brown. I’d honestly wouldn’t mind the red and purple sometime soon. Drawbacks: although they are comfortable you have to loosen the cord that laces up the back as it runs through the top of the flat; not much structure or support; definitely can’t wear them in the rain.

  15. brandy

    Unfortunately things like this happen all the time. Here in the US it is extremely hard to take action against someone for copying a print. Truth be told everyone does it. The trick is to get it out there be fore your competition can copy. D&G can argue that Marimekko doesn’t have rule over a daisy print. It’s pop art and a good designer can produce a number of references for this print that are not marimekko prints.

    Let this be a caution to all you aspiring designers. Don’t show your work until it’s been produced and shipped unless you want it knocked off.

  16. tricia

    brandy: you said “D&G can argue that Marimekko doesn’t have rule over a daisy print. It’s pop art” but that’s the thing, anyone familiar with design and design history knows that it’s awfully close to an iconic print, so close that at first glance it reads as the exact print it’s copying. and the print in question is 40 years old and has been used liberally in those years.. they are copying a print that is 40 years old, and known by huge numbers of people.