a little bit in my bobbin.

as some very astute readers have guessed, i’m with child.

our little bit is due at the beginning of august (right around the birthday of both me *and* mr. royal!).

as you might expect, me and my husband are ridiculously happy about this happy impending event. it’s still early; still a bit cautious, as one might guess. so far, so good.

dressing is already proving to be quite the challenge…but i’m determined to persevere and remain *me* aesthetically as much as is stylistically possible given my wardrobe restrictions. if i find i’m particularly successful in managing to dress my rapidly expanding figure on a given day, i may record the moment for posterity here and over at wardrobe_remix. but i’m not promising anything. *wink*

103 comments

  1. lady coveted

    HOLY MOLY! Congratulations!!!!!
    Just please don’t move to the East Bay…

    I’m sure this kid is going to be super well dressed and ultra smart!
    πŸ™‚

  2. stacysews

    Congratulations!!!! Hope you’re feeling well – take it easy and relax until August. In the mean time, you can join me in my maternitybabybaby accessories sew-a-thon (I’m now rushing to try to get it all done, 3 more months to go!).

  3. Ashe Mischief

    Wow! Despite the mentions of illness, it never crossed my mind. Congratulations to you + Pete! That’s wonderful and exciting news.

    I’ll be very curious to see how you do change your style to fit your belly– are there any pieces you know you’ll be giving up at all? (Like wearing fewer heels during the last trimester or anything like that?)

  4. Persephone

    I couldn’t be happier for you. I am due at the beginning of June, so are babies won’t be far apart. I’m looking forward to seeing pics of your “maternity” wardrobe because, frankly, mass market maternity clothes bite, and I don’t have tons of cash to spend on cute boutique stuff. Yay for a Royal new baby! Congratulations, hope you are starting to feel better. ~P

  5. jennifer

    i knew it, you tricky little fashionista. !!!

    i’ll tell you what i tell everyone i know who has a baby– read to him/her always always always.

  6. Heather

    Congratulations! I might be dense or something, but I had no clue. That’s so great for the two of you. I’m really looking forward to seeing how you manage pregnancy fashion-wise!

    By the way, totally random, but I’m the girl who said hi at the UNKLE show a while back πŸ™‚

  7. cc in canada

    blessing to you and your husband!

    i look forward to your posts on dressing well while pregnant.

    πŸ™‚

  8. hannah

    wonderful news! you are sure to have the most beautiful little family out there. like others have said, i am super excited to see what you will be wearing as the months go on. i also can’t wait to see baby fashion!

    smooth sailing until august!
    xo.
    hannah.

  9. Bess

    that is really great! I have a wonderful sister in law who has been a great model for loving mom and cool dresser in both pregnancy and mom-dom. Her sister took some old jeans of hers, cut off the tops, and sewed on stretch-knit tubes to act as maternity pants, and she really loved them! just a tip that might work for you too.. then you keep the skinny jeans w/ the top not so skinny!

  10. angela

    It was that tell-tale heart on your belly! What happy news! I just got through munching on my own baby’s cheeks–prepare yourself to be enamored. Please, please post your maternity solutions here. It will be fun to see.

  11. jill

    oh i am so happy for you!!! congratualtions!!! what a great way to start off 2008!! much love, health, and happiness is wished for you! πŸ™‚

  12. Iconoclastic

    Oh, congratulations, sweetheart! The world cannot wait to welcome an an uber smart and sassy Pet-ricia! Take care, love. And I am looking forward to see how you translate your personal aesthetic and natural fashion panache to your maternity months πŸ™‚ I am certain it will be fab, as always.

  13. Sonya

    Congratulations! I see this babe being swaddled in the brightest and most fantastic patchwork and knit items. As for maternity wear, I can just see you rockin’ some acid wash dungarees!

  14. buttercup rocks

    Mazel Tov!! As a larger reader, I’ll be most interested in seeing how you respond to the sartorial challenge of maternity.

  15. Lotta

    Oooh, congrats! Here I was fearing that something is wrong when it was actually this good… I’m so happy for you! πŸ™‚ Looking forward to the baby thrifting someone suggested earlier ;).

  16. S.

    Congrats! I loved being pregnant and I looked great! You can have so much fun with what you wear. I never purchased an item of maternity clothing.

  17. ms. spinach

    oh my goodness!… i’m obviously not very astute, but i’m so glad to hear this good news (and that you’re not horribly sick… i was getting worried!) congratulations!!!!

    plus: vintage dressing for kids — so. much. fun!

  18. Lisa-Gabrielle

    I knew it!!!!!!
    I am very happy for you,hopefully you are almost over the sickness by now,though with my 2nd it took almost 5 months. Dressing can actually be quite fun,try the local vintage boutique and some of their giant sizes.That fixed me up for a few garments,and I’m sure you already know to invest in atleast one good pair of maternity jeans. I think thats all I bought,everything else was vintage and thrifted.

  19. Kara

    Congratulations!! That is wonderful news, I am very happy for you guys! Oh, I can’t wait to see you all cutie and prego πŸ™‚

  20. jenny

    so happy for you, my friend.
    how exciting to be able to share the news!!!
    can’t wait to thrift a little something special for you

  21. TaRosa

    Congratulations! The little heart you formed in front of your belly, with your hands, in a recent picture ,was a clue for me. As was the prolonged “illness”– my little one had me sick for months. They say lots of morning sickness means a girl. It was true for me, though I was CONVINCED that I was having a boy and called her Lil’ Guy right up until she was born– and sometimes after.
    Anyway, you will totally rock this pregnancy because thrift stores were absolutely my best resource when I was pregnant and I looked durn good if I say so myself. Pregnancy is a great opportunity to play with and express your personal style.
    Anyhoo, many blessings.
    xo
    T

  22. Lady Smaggle

    Oh my goodness congratulations! I can’t wait to see your wee little one re-mixing with us all. I wish you a very safe and healthy pregnancy! πŸ™‚

  23. Jani

    YAY! Tricia , I am so happy for you and your husband.
    I already Know you will be a wonderful mother, you are so creative and special!
    Take good care, best wishes and tons of hugs ,
    Jani

  24. Casey

    CONGRATULATIONS!!! Wow… I’m so, so excited for you both! πŸ™‚ And I’m sure you are going to be the most stylish pregnant woman ever! hehe!! Wishing you the best with this new chapter in your life… πŸ™‚

  25. Katie/nadnuk

    Congrats to the Royals! Bitty Royal should be a wonderful adventure for y’all.

    I had thought that maybe you might be in the family way after the wardrobe shot with the tummy heart! My sister’s due in April, and she swears by the Bella Band for stretching the use of pants and skirts. Too bad I didn’t find it when I was pregnant, but I managed to stay stylish on a college budget.

    Congrats on the new family adventure!

  26. nava

    Congratulations! I only have 2 pieces of advice: stock up Now for your entire pregnancy, and for baby’s first year. My boy (also was due August, showed up in September!) outgrew everything within a few months, and I went from average to BELLY in just a couple days. πŸ™‚

  27. Lex

    Brilliant! I’m 8.5 months pregnant, due in early feb, and I can tell you from experience that keeping up your own style is dead difficult. Most maternity wear really sucks. I’ve toned down and streamlined my look, and used maternity pants with normal long tops and normal long jackets.

    Easier to dress well in summer though, when the floaty dress gets you through.

    It gets particularly bad when you hit months seven onward and your belly really pops… I think Gwen Stefani had something good going on when she was pregnant, though.

  28. Rebecca

    That is awesome! And so are your readers, look at all that encouragement!

    It will be fun to see you how you interpret maternity in your very own style. πŸ™‚

  29. meli

    Yay!! Tricia, I am so happy for you. Congratulations on what will definitely be the most exciting time in your life to date! And it only gets better from here.
    If you want any info on birthing choices, email me, I am working at a birth center now and studying midwifery.
    big hugs,
    meli

  30. Erica

    Hooray! We are due around the same time, within a month of one another! Solid! :oD Congrats to you both…if you need someone to talk to about going through pregnancy, give me a holla!

  31. di

    Wow- congratulations, and best wishes for the exciting ride ahead. I can’t help but wonder what delightful clothes your babe will wear?!

  32. darla - zoogal

    awwwwww… so sweet. how very cool. i knew that little heart on your tummy meant something!!! πŸ˜‰