(not so) random links

-i know pretty much everyone else thinks karl lagerfeld is a god, but after reading this interview with him on jezebel, he just seems to me to be an elitist, misanthropic ass. 🙂 seriously though, whatever you think of old karl, the interview (rife with discussion of the myriad things he loathes) is a laugh riot. (thanks to design that kills)

***

-this week i came across two articles from the the new york times that focus on body shape and size and how such is typically received in the culture at large. i felt that they are also quite connected to matters of fashion, body image, and the like, so i’m bringing them to your attention: one, a report on research that suggests that fat bias is worse for women, and two, a look at what life [is like] as a tall girl.

to the first, i say, damn right women find more criticism as a result of their size and shape, whatever it is. what say you? and do you think the results of this study are right on? or off-base? and if you’re a man and you’re actually reading this, what can you say about these matters? are men as criticized for their weight as women seem to be?

and as for the second, if nothing else, it sheds some light on what it’s like to go through life being a little different from the norm. something i’m sure we all can relate to, in some way, shape or form (pun intended).

***

-speaking of body parts and body image: for the moment, fashion seems to have banished the bosom (via the telegraph). being a card-carrying member of the big-busted crew (not of my own will, but the will of a powerful little thing called…oh, genetics?), i take issue with this sweeping, somewhat misogynistic fashion movement, on behalf of my fellow busties and less-endowed sisters alike. one bust shape is not inherently better than the other. hey designers! stop making it hard for all of us to get dressed (depending on the moment and your ridiculous whims)…and be a little more realistic about the shape of the average human body and the bodies of your markets, else you risk looking like you’re of minimal brain and minimal creativity.

***

-in combing over my blog’s technorati links, i came across a lovely menswear-focused blog called style salvage. in the post i saw, they happened to be pimping wardrobe_remix (saying it needs more men, and i agree!)…so sweet. so i am making it my mission right now to pimp them. the content over there: smart, savvy, young, and approachable. keep up the great work, guys!

***

-ever wanted to get a small peek into the wonder that is thrift town, that great san francisco thrifting mecca i frequent every week and have mentioned here a million times? the venerable apartment therapy: san francisco grants your wish with this post on thrift town and the fab finds to be found within. granted, it’s mostly about their home finds, but you get the idea.

***

the quick quick and dirty dirty:

-i am so envious of the nicely outfitted silkscreen printing studio of boston-based stationary printers two trick pony (recently featured on poppytalk)

this big crumb rhubarb coffee cake by smitten kitchen makes me drool. (why am i posting this? because cooking is creative, natch!)

-i’m feeling a knee sock obsession coming around again in my life. in the spring? yes, i am weird. anyway, these clessidra stockings on knitty address and answer said obsession beautifully.

***

feel free to comment with cool links, as always…!

18 comments

  1. kristin

    hehehehe you have to GIGGLE at karl! not take him seriously (that is why i like him) and that he has created this “myth” of himself- i want that too- people see me on the outside, not really knowing how i am on the inside, like a dress up game! (hi tricia) xo

  2. tricia

    kristin: i giggle AT him because he takes himself so seriously. i believe he really means what he says, and that he really is that much of an ass…that is what i find laughable, ultimately. 😀

  3. ambika

    I saw an old documentary on Sundance or IFC on him and he struck me as slightly crazy. I mean, I know that world is a bit crazy so it didn’t strike me as unusual but I’ve never considered him god-like. Is that such a rarity?

  4. Ashe Mischief

    As a plus-sized gal, it’s really interesting to read the NYT article on women’s weight bias. And I don’t think it’s necessarily wrong, but in the gender debate, I feel there’s one thing they missed: men may not be severely criticized as soon for packing on the pounds, but if a man is overweight, the way he is supposed to interact with his weight is very different. My “partner” is heavier, and since I’ve known him (60 pounds lighter to now), he’s always had to endure an elementary school fashion of being blatantly teased about his weight. And it always comes from his coworkers and closest friends. While he says it doesn’t bother him that they do it, I do know that he is as self-conscious about his weight gain as I am about mine; but instead of saying, “Hey, it bothers me that you make jokes about this,” he continues to accept the mocking. He claims its because they know he’s self-conscious about it, and it’s an endearment thing, but I’m not so sure I understand that logic.

  5. Chloe Nightingale

    I think girls definitely get more weight discrimination — on both ends of the scale and from both men and women. My husband is really skinny, but no one ever accuses him of having an eating disorder or tells him to eat a sandwich. I am normally pretty slender and it’s not unusual for women will criticise me (skinny bitch/eat a sandwich) or accuse me of having an eating disorder. There have been a couple times in my life I was closer to a ‘normal’ weight for my size and both men and women (to be fair, the women were only family members*, but the men weren’t) will tell me I have a fat ass or a pot belly.

    * Now that I am pregnant, my mother-in-law keeps asking how much weight I’ve gained because her doctor told her when she had kids not to put on more than 2 stone. I’m 34 weeks and have already put that much on, but I was only 7 stone when I got pregnant and I read thinner people are supposed to put on more weight during pregnancy anyway.

  6. Ashe Mischief

    Oh! And though I’m not a member of the big-busted club, I am a member of the large rib-cage club (which, having had custom corsets made for me, I know that my rib measurements are not large or disproportionate at all). I totally agree with you on the points that fashion designers needing to stop making women’s clothes for boy’s bosoms. I don’t think asking for shirts to not gape at the bust, or for empire waists to not cut through the middle of our breasts is a big deal, really.

  7. risa

    I completed a little research project as an undergrad (in ’97 or ’98) where I looked at personal ads in the back of the village voice (this was before internet dating hit it big) and found that at least in terms of those ads, gay men had it the toughest. ads for men seeking men were more likely to include an emphasis on the looks (and weight) of the person writing the ad and the desired looks he was looking for in a partner/date. regarding overall society, however, i do think the fat bias is worse for women (as is the aging bias), although very hard for everyone.

  8. vasiliisa

    The tall girls article was interesting to read, as I have a sister who’s 6’1″. Having grown up with her, I must say I really do think as my body and appearances in general as quite “average”. It’s mostly my clothing that gets me looks – I can easily go incognito if I choose to, but height can’t be hidden like that, and it’s not a choice either.
    I was actually sad to read all the “tall girls are hot” comments the article had received. From what I’ve seen, tall girls get objectified A LOT.

  9. EJ

    Oh my gosh, so honoured that you’re linking to us! And as a tall girl with a large bust I’m paying extra special attention to your links this week!

  10. LeFiffy

    re: Karl:
    I think he’s a caricature of himself, a lot of people are Karl Lagerfeld for Carnival or Halloween here. Is there anybody taking him serious beside himself?! ;D
    People who have so much hatred in them scare me, it’s striking how much he uses the word ‘hate’ in this interview.

  11. Casey

    awesome links, as usual!! 😀 I really have to say I agree with you on your assesment of Karl Lagerfield; after reading “The Beautiful Fall” last summer (truly a piece of eye-opening trash ;), I was quite disgusted with the man. lol.

    I concur with your statement about fashion and bust sizes!!! I hate that people get pigeonholed into one end or the other by the whims of the industry. I’m on the small side, and even I find tops hard to fit into sometimes! I mean really: HELLO! do they expect us to really be that flat-chested, or want ourselves popping out?! whatever… rofl.

  12. sarah

    Tricia – seriously, thanks for the post about tall girls. I always hear “oh, I’d love to be so tall!” and, while I love it now, it’s taken me a lot of years to grow into. I still occasionally find myself completely disarmed by exclamations about my height, I think more so because as I get older, I somehow expect that the rest of the world, like me, should be used to this by now, and I can’t understand why it isn’t.

    I’m fairly small busted, too, so I’ll admit that the return of the empire silhouette has been a golden opportunity for me, personally. That said, I think you raise an interesting point here: as discussed here recently, the fashion mags and so-called “insiders” these days proclaim, “anything goes!” Yet I think you’ve succesfully problematized this proclamation by identifying a new type of fashion rule: anything may go style-wise, but not if the clothing is only being made for one body type. The inherent contradiction suggests to me a subtler (and I think, more disturbing) attempt to control the current “look”: moving beyond dictating silhouettes, hemlines, or colour palettes to necessitating conformity of body shape itself.

  13. Robin Claire

    The article about the tall woman is wonderful!! I’m 5’10 and I’m in grade 10, so it’s definitely not as extreme as her height, but people tell me I’m tall so much! Like they think I don’t know, hahaha. And my boyfriend is 5’4! THAT gets us the most weird looks. (funny thing is, he’s two years older!) I used to be uncomfortable about my height and how I looked with my boyfriend, but now I love being tall and neither of us care what anyone else thinks of us anymore. 🙂

  14. jenny v.

    omg…. thank you for the karl interview link – i laughed so hard reading it outloud to my husband in his accent that tears came out of my eyes! i noticed in some of the comments that he was related to a roald dahl character – out of the twits! haha! “i hate all children.”

    woo-boy, good stuff.

  15. super kawaii mama

    I love those knee socks. They look so comfortable and cosy. Sadly my knitting talents are not quite up to scratch ( scarves only – and a bit wonky to boot ), so I may have to shop around for some like these.