(not so) random links

-there’s a whole lot of theving going on these days. such shenanigans are like, no new news in the fashion world, no? i’ve written about such things multiple times, right here. what gives? it’s a touchy subject…but one that comes up constantly. it seems especially sad when one small/independent business or designer does the dirty deed to another small/independent business or designer.

mallory of indie shopping blog miss malaprop wrote to me this weekend letting me know that new orleans-based designer/retailer trashy diva has allegedly had some of their signature designs ripped off by another designer/retailer (as well as a wholesale client of theirs), unique vintage. surprisingly, unique vintage apparently unapologetically admits to this blatant theft…

anyway, if you’re so inclined, you can read more about this particular incident @ the following links: styledash or miss malaprop. also, jennine of the coveted makes some good points concerning the matter as well…

***

-how do you care for your clothes (and accessories)?

do you obsessively organize your garments in the closet by color and type? do you keep everything you own pressed, neat, and folded just so? (via the wall street journal)

or, conversely, do you just throw your things around in your abode or room in what looks like a heap, but in some state of “organization” that makes sense to you?

i gotta say, i’m staunchly in the first camp, almost bordering on obsessive-complusive when it comes to my clothes. hah!

everything in my closet(s) is organized by type and by color, even the shoes and jewelry! when my husband doesn’t fold something “properly”, i can’t help but re-fold it. i iron EVERYTHING, even jeans and tees. where does this crazy organized tendency come from? well, i did my time in department store retail sales in my late teens/early 20s. additionally, my dad taught me to iron properly when i was about middle school/preteen age (his mom taught him when he was of a similar age…he’s always been smartly dressed, classic, and has always favored nice quality things and caring for them accordingly). old habits die hard!

in thinking about this, i wonder: does one’s obsessiveness (or lack thereof) about organizing your clothing/accountrements carry over to the way a person dresses yourself as well?

do you have “rules” for dressing yourself, a certain paradigm/framework you work with and within concerning your wardrobe, or do you go crazy and throw clothing caution to the wind, trying whatever feels right at the moment, using whatever you can find off your floor? seems (to me) like two different (equally valid) means of achieving the same end…dressing and expressing oneself…

***

vickie howell (of austin craft mafia and DIY’s knitty gritty fame) is writing a new book called craft corps, and she wants YOU to contribute to said book. in vickie’s own words, the to-be published tome is about:

“the community perpetuated by craft and the designers & hobbyists who feed it. as part of the content, i’m hoping to include 50-60 short profiles of crafters of all types. if you knit, crochet, embroider, decoupage, paint, sew, bead, tat, work with ceramics, collage, etc.—I want to hear from you! Whether you’ve found success selling your handmade sock monkeys on Etsy or you crochet chemo caps for charity, I want to know who you are, what you craft and why you do it. YOU DO NOT NEED TO BE PROFESSIONAL CRAFTERS (in fact, it’s preferable as the book’s other content will focus on that)!”



read more about vickie’s forthcoming book, craft corps, and how you can participate in the making of the book on vickie’s blog. (via craft:)

here be a cute little knitted backpack from lion brand yarns. so nice to finally see them making some cute, up-to-date, wearable patterns! keep it up… (now, if only they’d get rid of that godforsaken homespun and other acrylic beastliness…. :P)

this jackson pollack-inspired bangle bracelet red-do (using nail polish!!) by fops and dandies is rather genius. (i must admit, i’m both a huge fan of (oversized) gold gaudiness and paint splatters, so admittedly i’m rather biased.)

9 comments

  1. Ashe Mischief

    I almost emailed you the Trashy Diva story, myself!

    One of the biggest things I keep reading is often, “It’s fashion, they should be flattered and get over it.” And I can’t help but think, “NO. Just because the law does not protect small and large designers alike does not mean that we should sit back and let such an instance happen.” There are boundaries, I think, in inspiration/copying/stealing designs, and I think Uniquely Vintage crossed them all.

    Mallory left me a great link on my blog, to a site called Humid City. There are some amazing interview pieces in there, from their attempts to call Uniquely Vintage, to talking to Trashy Diva’s Manager, Angie, and one of their long-term employees, Veronica. I can only imagine how upsetting this all is, and they’re really a great group of women. I hate to see this happening. Anyhow, you should definitely check on the Humid City post– very brilliant and a worthwhile read.

  2. Sal

    It’s kind of amazing that we haven’t seen a rash of lawsuits similar to the ones spawned by music industry woes. Must be because it’s the tiny indie folks getting screwed. Perhaps a big class action looms on the horizon. I can’t imagine the trend of thieving from designers changing without threat of legal action.

    As for organization, I feel like a weird hybrid. Some items and groups are meticulously categorized and organized, but due to a space shortage, nothing is as tidy as I’d like. My dressing habits are similar: I definitely have parameters for what I will both buy and wear, but occasionally I tire of my “look” and either branch out or get lazy. 😉

  3. Lady Smaggle

    Oh I’m all over the shop. I’m a bit of shover but a bit of a folder. I also live between my house and my boyfriend’s house so most of clothes have to be crumple friendly for packing in bags.

  4. Gladys

    I don’t fold a lot of things, but the hanging stuff – especially pants and skirts – is done a certain way which reflects how I learned it on a retail job. I also like to iron, and try to iron anything that needs it before it goes into the closet – that way it is ready to be worn when I pull it out. Haven’t started ironing tees and jeans though—–

    Love the Pollack bangle – what a great way to reuse what you already have!

  5. Mallory

    Thanks so much for posting about Trashy Diva! I second what Ashe said above, just because people get away with design theft all the time doesn’t make it right. And especially in cases where the laws are fuzzy and there aren’t necessarily any great legal ways to prevent things like this from happening, it really is up to the consumer to do what they think is right. Therefore the people that know the truth have to do what they can to get the information out there, so that consumers can make informed decisions.

  6. Ananke

    I just started colour coding my wardrobe, as part of a wider effort to find my own style. Part of that is my single, lonely, dress rule – my socks have to match something. Sometimes that thing is my mood, mostly a colour. And I’m allowed to have as many socksas I want.

    Actually I have another rule – on days i work with kids, I wear pants.

  7. Mona

    People are always stealing designs and tweaking them. I know that many designers have their assistants visit resale vintage and thrift stores to get some fresh ideas which are actually based on someone else’s design! As a designer/artist and personal crafter I find that I get inspiration from other artists whether it is a color or a design. However I would not copy someones else’s work. Look at the Foley and Corinna city tote that is so popular. That design was based off vintage purses. So can we say that the design is not totally theirs because they just derived their tote off another designers purse? Does the original designer of the vintage item feel that something was stolen from them? Or does it not matter because the designer of the vintage item is dead and their is no one to protect their rights? Or is their a statue of limitations placed on the length of a copyright?

    As a designer(artist) I feel that the possibility of someone copying my designs is inevitable. Which is why I falter when I try to list items on my blog or on etsy. Jenny Hart has written a wonderful article on this at the Venus Magazine site. Having an online presence may boost sales and gain you notoriety but I would consult my lawyer first so I would know exactly how to protect my work and I would offer licensing agreements if someone wanted to use my designs in their own work. I have just faced it and I am aware that the laws to protect a designers work are not explict and until they are this will continue.

  8. Raphaelle

    I went to the Trashy Diva site and bought one of those adorable Trixie Dresses that were ripped off by (not so) Unique Vintage. I can’t believe that the fashion world has come to that! tsk tsk. Thanks for pointing this out to your loyal readers. I love supporting grassroots people and their creative businesses. 🙂

    Hope you and the baby are hanging in there! Soon enough you’ll have a bundle to hold in your arms. Best of luck, Raphaelle