harputs market: over(alls)

harputs1.jpg

harputs2.jpg
(images via harputs market)

these surprisingly sophisticated overalls are from san francisco’s own harputs market, purveyors of their own small collection of clothing (to which said overalls belong) and avant guarde labels like maison martin margiela and pleasure principle.

i have a secret obsession with workwear…denim, denim jackets, jumpsuits, overalls, and the like. things that are sturdy, stiff, things that have intention and use, even if they aren’t used as intended and are merely worn for the purposes of satisfying and answering the call of one’s aesthetic whims. i like said workwear in all colors, textures, and interpretations. which explains why i love this…

now, if only those overalls above came in denim…(har.)

p.s. i found out about the shop via garbage dress, the intriguing blog of an intriguing gal, zana, who works there. i am delighting in her obsessions and insights and doings…though the life she stylishly leads and the objects over which she obsesses are not anything like my own. which makes her and all of it all the more interesting to me. anyone else like this? inspired and moved by those NOT like you, not just those like you?

5 comments

  1. oleya

    zana is amazing! she went to my art school. i didn’t know she had a blog, i should check it out. i was always in awe of her style. she does amazing art, too!

  2. Nadia Lewis

    It’s funny: you are one of those people for me. Sometimes we agree so much, sometimes I talk to the screen trying to talk you out of something. But in the end, I love your bold, intelligent point of view. 🙂

    I think the differences in our aesthetics come from the differences in our bodies. I’m pear-shaped and like the 1950s and 1970s; you seem to be more top heavy and prefer decades like the 1980s. Also, you really like your colours warm whereas I like ’em coooooooooooooold.

  3. Sal

    It’s been a looooong time since I’ve seen a pair of overalls I’d consider wearing … but those are gorgeous. Love the leather bow detail in the back.

  4. tricia

    nadia: you have pretty much nailed me. i won’t be swayed from what i like though, no matter how much others might beg or disagree! 😛 but that’s what’s lovely about personal taste, it’s personal, right?! 🙂 my favorite eras (fashion-wise) do in fact tend to be the 70s and 80s…so you’re on the money!

  5. zana

    Did you know that we can make the overalls in denim if you want? We’ve done a pair before. 😉

    Thank you for reposting this. I think the greatest thing about blogs is the ability to gain an insight into a lifestyle that is different from your own.

    xo
    z