(not so) random links

on the subject of conspicuous consumption and conspicuous thrift:

flaunting expense or thrift, some ponderings on same by the very smart barry over at 3stylelife

the case against thrift (from salon) and conspicuous thrift (from the la times) (both via nubby twiglet)

myself? well, i’ve always had more of a thing for showing off my thriftiness in a conspicuous way (proudly advertising my love of thrift store clothing), or at least sharing my love for new nicer things in a quieter, more mixed up way (i.e., no logos, no/or few obvious of the moment, instantly recognizable uber trendy pieces), rather than buying and wearing a lot of fancy, trendy, omg it’s “THE THING TO HAVE RIGHT NOW” stuff just so others will know how much i spent/how much i am allegedly worth.

anyway, so…the trend now is toward playing style down, away from showing off. it’s been brewing for a while, an artifact of this deepening recession (depression?), to some degree and just am equal and opposite reaction to the way things were (the reverse) not so long ago…and frankly, you know? i kind of like it.

i’m thinking, and have thought for a long while, that it might be good, on a culture-wide, world-wide level to go the other way, the opposite way from all that hyper-consumption, to scale back, step back, to be more careful, more cautious, at least when it comes to spending habits. maybe it’s a good idea, on a broad level. but maybe not. maybe just a personal level? but then again, if lots of persons do it at once it does become broad…

i don’t know, maybe i’m just really desiring a paradigm of moderation, not extremes with mass over spending or under spending.

but anyway…

are you feeling it now too? this turning away from crazy spending? were you not feeling it before, but are feeling it now?

is it, in any way, a good thing, this retraction, reaction, to the former trend of conspicuous consumption?

or will it bite us in the ass somehow?

if we stop spending altogether, will the whole capitalist ‘system’ collapse, as some fear?

any economists (or amateur economists? heh!) with a fashion bent lurking out there want to chime in on this subject?

***

i always had this feeling that fast fashion retailers were lurking around street fashion/fashion-sharing websites/fashion or style blogs, and pilfering ideas. my suspicions are now confirmed. see: websites feed fast fashion inspiration (via the international herald tribune)

how do YOU like being watched?

do you realize they are watching you and what you like to look at (street style blogs) in order to better sell to you? do you realize that money is being made off of you?

how does that make you feel, this being watched? are you okay with it?

***

quick and dirty, just like you like it:

-via incense and peppermint, in a post over in the wardrobe_remix discussion forums, comes word of a lulz blog that takes the piss out of lookbook.nu, called lolbook.nu. it’s pretty darn funny. gotta be able to laugh at yourself and take fashion (and photographing your style and self) less seriously sometimes, i say!

-woo, a fannypack tute! (via craftster.com)

these DIY-ed “slide-dyed” denim jeans on finnish blog nelliinan vaateheone are pretty damn hot! the text of the blog (and the post in question) is in finnish, but the resulting jeans are so stunning, they speak for themselves. go on and replicate them! (via outsapop)

craft: has declared march to be mending month, and as such, they have been posting (and are planning to post) great little ideas for mending and making do, as they say. i particularly like this recently-posted, easy (and cute!) elbow patch how-to!

10 comments

  1. Pingback: I could still use a little thrift « Oak Glasses
  2. Sal

    As someone who always watched her pennies and NEVER gave a crap about logo’ed merch, I can’t say I’m feeling any differently about consumption or style. But it sure is interesting to read again and again that other folks are experiencing a paradigm shift … or claim to be.

    And holy cow that lolbook.nu site is a scream!

  3. ambika

    I’ve definitely felt a shift in expressions of consumption. Whether on blogs, in magazines, or even just amongst friends–with so many people losing their jobs, it just feels way less appropriate to go on about one’s latest purchase (whether thrifted or not) when so many people are struggling. Maybe it’s just my own internalization of the grim news that’s every where…but it does seem less prevalent.

    & I’m with you. Anything that gets people to think about their consumption, whether societal or personal, is probably a good thing.

  4. danielle

    on one hand it’s disturbing to see original style go from just that to the racks of F21 in a heartbeat. on the other hand, it may just be natural and in direct correlation to the speed of the world.

  5. Barry Wright, III

    First of all, thanks for the shout out! Personally, my spending habits haven’t changed too much, but I’m looking for new ways to spend (on modification, learning how to construct, etc) as well.

    As a (very) amateur economist, the collapse of capitalism simply won’t happen, as people will continue spending on things (even if there are some price drops in the future). There may be significant restructuring of the economy towards more vital goods, and the fashion industry could take a hit, but capitalism will be quite alright.

    Interesting that the streetstyle blogs have such an influence, kindof makes me wish I lived in a bigger town (so that I’d have one!).

  6. Nadia Lewis

    I agree with Hugh from Gaping Void and Danielle from Final Fashion: screw recessions. After four months of unemployment, I just got the highest paying job I’ve ever had.

    How does the economy or my own income affect me? Not much. Sometimes I have savings, sometimes I have credit card debt, but I’m always spending on lifestyle the Nadia way: thrifting, knitting, sewing, investing in quality pieces. Whatever gets the job done, whatever builds a amazing, long term, unique set of things that I want around me. For me, I’ll always look for a deal, but I’ll always be willing to lay out a lot for quality too.

  7. Ninainvorm

    I always enjoy your well-written articles about style/fashion and the questions you ask! I think it’s good to keep asking yourself questions about style, consuming and the (fashion) industry. Like you I’m an avid thrifter (and a proud one! ;)), because of the things I find, but also because it’s a more fun way of shopping that stimulates your creativity. It’s so easy to spend a lot of money on beautiful and expensive clothes, but that’s just not as much fun (and besides I don’t have that much money…).

  8. elliebelle

    I think it is hard to make yourself really stop and think about your spending habits when maybe you haven’t really had to think about them before. With so much advertising in our faces all of the time, I think it is hard not to want that it thing, or brand name item. For people who do love fashion and like a change in their wardrobe, it’s difficult to change – but maybe the idea of reworking what you already have into something unique is the best way to approach it. I think that cutting fashion spending entirely probably isn’t an option for people like me – but maybe being more creative is. Who knows. It will be interesting to see where we are at in a year from now.

  9. Pingback: I am not a Recessionista: Thrifting as a way of life, not a trend | Painfully Hip