start spreading the news…

NYTmanhattan.jpg
(image from the new york times abstract city by christophe niemann blog post I LEGO NY)

***

i’m leaving this week…

***

it’s (back) to new york city we go…my little family and i!

it has been a fun adventure for my family out here in the wild wild west, for these past two and a half years, but to put a twist on the old song, we REALLY “left our hearts” in new york [not san francisco!], so it’s back to the east coast we go, this coming saturday!

things may be a be a bit thinner on the blogging front for the next couple weeks, as we wrap things up here in san francisco, find permanent digs in new york city, and settle into our new place.

i’m going to blog when i can/if i can, but i can’t promise anything, of course. πŸ™‚ i have a feeling we’ll be quite busy.

see you on the other side (of the country)!

***

p.s. much love to those of you i’m leaving behind here on the west coast, and to all the superbly sweet people i met and ran into out here. you are wonderful! i love you and will miss you. of course, you know where to find me…i’m only an email or short plane ride away! look me up if you’re ever in new york. πŸ™‚

26 comments

  1. Tess

    Oh my! That’s so exciting!!! Now that you’re on the same coast (i’m in boston) I have more of a chance of meeting up with you at some point!!

    Happy and safe moving for you guys!

  2. sarah

    whoa! Big news! We’ll miss your bold style out here, but I am super excited to see NY through your eyes. Safe travels, happy nesting in the new digs (when you find them); can’t wait until you are back posting again!

    take care!

  3. UTBWB

    That is HUGE and exciting news, congratulations, I am sure it was no easy decision. Look forward to an update when you are settled.

  4. martha

    Good luck on your move!
    I’m so jealous -I’ve never lived in NYC, but I think my heart is there as well. We used to live in SF, but always wished we had moved to NYC instead:)
    can’t wait to hear all about your new adventures.
    xo

  5. saint9

    my gosh, has it really been two and a half years? i guess i’ve been following your blog for quite some time!
    congrats & good luck on your move & welcome back to the east coast!

  6. sarai

    Oh wow, congratulations! I miss NY so much sometimes. I think it’s hard to love SF quite as much after you’ve lived there, beautiful though it is.
    Have a good time and good luck! (we are moving out of the area next week too.)

  7. jani

    Welcome Home! So glad you’re coming back, I missed your NYC sensibility, and your great street photos. You’re my inspiration and my connection to cool things online…good luck with the move!
    See you in the city sometime!
    xxoo
    jani

  8. m.bibelot

    good luck!!! san francisco will miss you dearly! i’ve always wondered what it’d be like to live in nyc, but i think it’s too late for me now so i will have to experience nyc vicariously through your blog and flickr stream πŸ™‚

  9. laura

    i wish you all the best for your move! 2 and a half years – wow, i wouldn’t have thought it’s been such a long time. anyway, i think it’s great that you’re taking the step and going back.

  10. meligrosa

    very cool!
    wishing you nothing but the best for you and your lovely family.
    Never got to meet you here in SF, but I can see maybe when I go visit NYC or something, a wRemix get together event going πŸ˜€
    best -xo.meli

  11. erica

    I’m so happy for you. I thought of you today at Nick Cave’s astounding exhibit at Yerba Buena Art Center — will you have time to see it before you leave? It reminded me so much of your blog.

  12. tricia

    thanks for the kind wishes on the move, everyone!

    chantilly: no, we’ll be living in manhattan this go-round. bushwick was great (hah, in *some* ways) but we wanted to try living in the middle of it all for a while. we’ll see how it goes. πŸ™‚

    erica: we came to NYC last weekend (3/21) so unfortunately, i missed the nick cave exhibit!

  13. AngieMontreal

    Wow, wow, wow, so incredibly exciting! It was always apparent on your blog that you missed NY πŸ™‚

    I find it inspiring that you are following your heart/going with your gut, (especially with a wee one) it’s really wonderful! If you ever have the urge to head up to Mtl for a trip (it’s only about 7hrs i think) let me know, I’ll head you in the direction of fun shopping and good eats!

  14. j*d

    wow. welcome back. if you end up strolling around the ev on a warm breezy day, come by 6BC garden and say hi.