older ladies of the street (and why i love them)

advancedstylewoman.jpg

aucoinwoman.jpg

these two ladies popped into my feed reader around the same time…and seeing them, one after the other, warmed my heart and made me smile. these ladies, though advanced in age, clearly have a young spirit residing within them. a penchant for expressing themselves in an artful, daring way that dallies with modernity, and youth without, to my eye, looking like a “mutton dressed as a lamb,” as the old (tired) saying goes. they are at once “age appropriate” and pushing the envelope for what’s expected of, or typically worn by their demographic (see: that pink hair, those plaid combat boots!!). i hope i look half as good when i find myself at their age…and that i am still expressing my own self with the same attention to detail and clearly apparent joie de vivre that these ladies project. they seem to delight in the act of dressing, perhaps they always have…it would be interesting to see what these women were like in their “younger years”.

***

on a related note: i am happy that street fashion blogs like advanced style (still) exist, and that some street fashion photographers have a broad focus in the age, gender, race and aesthetic they choose to publish. diversity is good…it keeps life interesting, and the novelty is pleasing to the eye and the brain, no?

***

care to share any links to street fashion/fashion blogs which feature/focus on or are written/curated by/for people of “advanced age”? one’s that do their work or express themselves with panache? do tell.

11 comments

  1. jennine

    it is great to see women unbound by expectation no matter if it’s age or anything else we’re bound by. both the lades really inspire me!

  2. Sally

    I sincerely hope to be one of these ladies once my hair has turned and I’ve retired. It’s positively inspiring to see women who have truly evolved with age.

  3. Jeanee

    Love the title of this blog:
    older ladies of the street

    “of the street” sounds like these old broads are ladies of the night, or old ladies that have ninja superpowers only at night.

    HA!

  4. Style Eyes Fashion Blog

    I would so love to be as stylish as these ladies now (in my thirties) never mind in years to come. They look great. I am hoping that with age I will develop an even greater confidence to wear clothes that I love even if they don’t conform to the latest trend.

  5. Trix

    These women are absolutely wonderful, good for them! I love seeing people out and about enjoying life and not worrying about what others think – they’re not doing any harm to anybody. I hope I have half their spunk when I’m their ages..

  6. Pingback: Marvelous Monday!
  7. urban craft

    I wish I had photos, but this summer while in Paris, I couldn’t get over how many older ladies, 50s – 60s, had pink, orange, purple or multicolored hair. It was way rad!