iris apfel, an icon in motion

a great video featuring my favorite trendsetting octogenarian, iris apfel. it’s basically a little bio on her, her tastes, her influences, her textile business. it’s chock-full of great old photos of her from “back in the day” and lots of sage, style/life advice.

i’ve been a big fan of hers since seeing the 2005-2006 MET costume institute show, rara avis, that featured selections from her fun, bold wardrobe.

seeing her free and bold use of color, shape, motif, and texture was incredibly inspiring to me. it’s still inspiring to me! she’s a woman unafraid to experiment and try new things when it comes to fashion, and at the same time, she knows who she is and curates her style accordingly.

love these quotes from her in the video:

“i just mix and put things to together the way the spirit moves me”

“the fun of getting dressed is that it’s a creative experience, sometimes it’s better than another time”

“freedom of expression, of expressing yourself is the most important thing; if you don’t you’re all bottled up and choking.”

“[be] free, free”

“you only have one trip [life], you might as well enjoy it”


…basically, i think she’s saying:

if enjoying [style] means wearing what you like, the way you want to wear it, when you want to wear it, then… GO FOR IT. and make no apologies.

wise words! iris, you are wonderful!

(via advanced style)

3 comments

  1. Jeannine

    Oh, how lovely! Thanks for posting this video. Iris is such an inspiring lady. It’s a pleasure to hear her articulate her views on fashion, getting dressed, and life in general because she is such a thoughtful individual.

  2. sarah

    ooh, thanks for the apfel vid; looking fwd to watching this upon completion of my to-do list!

    Me, I love fashion week. But then, I never have time to look at any of it, and I’ll never be able to afford to go to a show or buy any of the pieces. So maybe I should rephrase. I love going through fashion week later, comparing the various trends that different individuals or groups of individuals pull out. There’s always something inspiring to me – some pattern here, some colour combo there, a striking silhouette or surprising fabrication, an attractive theme – something that might inspire me to make something new for my own wardrobe, or to try a new configuration of elements I already have. It’s just a glut of ideas to feed the ol’ brain, and I have to admit, I enjoy overindulging in recaps and slideshows when the quarter ends at university. It’s a guilty pleasure, but a pleasure nonetheless! =)