patchy kimono!

patchwork kimono robe

patchwork kimono robe

another finished object! really? wow!

(truth be told, i have a lot of finished (sewn, knit, or crocheted) objects lingering around, i’ve just been incredibly lax about cataloging (and sharing) them!)

anyhow, this here’s a fairly simple kimono style robe. the pattern is from the 1970s, this pattern to be exact. fabric is patchwork i made myself, from various and sundry scraps i had in my scrap fabric stash. it’s a pretty equal mix of vintage and new fabrics. the edging and belt are made from newly acquired bits of fabric, as is the unseen solid red-orange lining.

the impetus?
most ready-to-wear robes are abysmal, and lack personality (perhaps i’ve been looking in the wrong places? hah!). anyway, i never could find a fun (or sturdy!) robe in the usual mass market retail venues, and haven’t found a thrifted robe that’s up to my own quirky, personal snuff. so i felt i had to take matters into my own hands, as it were. i wanted something really 70s and fun…i think i succeeded.

yes, it’s like wearing a quilt, but that was sort of the point. ๐Ÿ™‚

7 comments

  1. tricia

    thanks all!

    diana: oops, you’ve come to the wrong place… ๐Ÿ™‚ all sorts of patchwork is loved around here! happy to have your seal of approval though! hehe.

  2. jani

    Hi Tricia,
    Love the robe,LOVE the patchwork,
    and it’s great to see you in the photos you’ve posted recently!
    I feel the same way about nightgowns, I always wear just boxers and T shirts, but I long for a loose nightgown out of some soft cotton…so I guess I’ll have to make one!
    I was in the city that day too…just downtown a bit further, i love nyc too, it’s so full of creative people and inspiration! How was that Japanese bookstore? It’s near Bryant park,right? I wanna go, they have all those cool sewing books, but it was a little too far to walk.
    take care,
    jani xxx