11.14.2010

11.14.2010

shown here sportin’ a denim jumper i whipped up friday/saturday, from some new denim and a vintage simplicity pattern (circa 70s). this pattern to be exact (simplicity 5021):

where i get my inspiration from

sometimes people ask me where i get my inspiration from…
my best answer?
musty old patterns like this one. ๐Ÿ˜› i especially love those that hail from the 1970s and 80s. those two versions on the right of the above pattern are so killer; i’d wear the outfits shown in a heartbeat.

because i’m curious: does anyone know if there’s a site for reviewing old sewing patterns, kind of like patternreview.com but something that’s for older patterns/out of date patterns and the crazy people who like to sew them (aka, people like yours truly)?

***

my final take? this particular pattern would probably be more suitable for a gal with a mile long torso and minimal boobage (like the drawings, haha!) (aka not me!), but i like it anyway.

been obsessing over aprons/pinafores/jumpers/overalls lately, esp. in denims or colored denims. another permutation of my workwear love, rearing it’s head, surely. i’ve been scouring etsy and ebay for old, interesting apron/apron jumper/overalls patterns like mad over the past couple months. have been amassing quite a little collection of said patterns.

***

other pertinent info:

-black and white striped tee: ralph lauren. thrifted in chicago
-apron: see above
-black and white polka dot leggings: uniqlo
-black shorty cowboy boots: frye
-brass fulani earrings: beads of paradise in manhattan
-goldtone cloud ring: adelineaffre.com

8 comments

  1. Casey

    I love those jumper patterns from the 70s too! I have a couple similar ones sitting in my stash right now… ๐Ÿ˜‰ I really like your version–it’s so classic yet still has that vintage/funky edge. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    ? Casey | blog

  2. Anouk

    Great to see youve come back to posting your outfits! I hope you can keep up with it, since you always inspire me to try new things and color combinations!

  3. Brumby

    Sewing Circle is a fairly new site, almost the sewing equivalent of Ravelry. Still a bit of a WIP (husband and wife team doing it in their spare time)but in time, once its membership grows you will likely find such reviews. http://www.mysewingcircle.com/

    For right now though, nothing I know of…