patch(ed)

pinwheel block-making

pinwheel blocks

been spending the last several days (read: the weekend to now) making pinwheel patchwork blocks, using some beige twill i thrifted ages ago (so long ago i can’t remember when or where i found it), and scraps of silks, cottons, cords and blends. found the instructions for this block in a great patchwork-making book i snagged at purl at some point last year, 501 rotary-cut quilt blocks by judy hopkins.

each block is about 12.5 inches square, and i’ve got about 16 of them, so i’m probably going to gather them up together and make some kind of 4 x 4 foot square wall-hanging thing. never mind that i have no more free wall space on which to hang such a hanging… 😛

i’ve found myself wanting to do a lot of quilting of late, or patchwork, really. wanting to play with fabric, color, design using patchwork as my medium. but not always wanting to go to the trouble of making a bed-sized behemoth. so i’m only committing myself to small-ish wall-hangings (like this one), and i’m having a lot of fun…

3 comments

  1. sarah

    love the look of your pinwheels! I know what you mean – about enjoying the play of fabric and colour that is patchwork … also about the massive project that a bed-sized quilt becomes. For the last year or so I have been cutting up scraps, old clothes that are being put out of commission, etc. into 2″ squares for a someday-maybe-if-I-ever-get-up-the-courage postage stamp quilt (talk about labour intensive!!). My husband and I like to go mountain biking in the red rock country in southern Utah; with red-rock-at-dusk or red-rock-in-a-storm in mind, I’ve been collecting scraps of red orange, dusky purples, and deeper blues for a while now. I do hope I get enough scraps and enough courage to do it one day; I think it would make a great quilt for our bed, one of those special “us” things.

  2. Jennifer Can Quilt

    that judy hopkins book is invaluable; i refer to it often when working on quilting projects, be it swaps, bees, self-fulfillment, or experimentation.

    i especially love the knowledge that if you add 7/8″ to a square, you can do HSTs at once; double fast!

    have fun patchworking and quilting. and those “bed-sized behemoths” aren’t as much of an undertaking as they seem. especially if you take your time and revel in the process.

    anyway.
    have fun!

  3. laura

    this looks really great – and it inspires me to make a patchwork wall hanging. that’s a great idea: it will make my dorm room more warm in winter and give it a cuter look, too! thanks for the inspiration.

    oh, and i also love the color combination on yours. (:

    it’s great that your back at posting.